A Gospel Song by Charles Wesley

I’ve been studying the life of John and Charles Wesley for my Church History class. I am so thankful to know and sing many of Charles’ hymns at 3ABC. Below is the last two lines of one of my all time favorites by him. Read and be blessed by the gospel truth being proclaimed.

Long my imprisoned spirit lay

Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;

Thine eye diffused a quickening ray,

I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;

My chains fell off, my heart was free,

I rose, went forth, and followed thee.

 No condemnation now I dread,

Jesus, and all in him, is mine!

Alive in him, my living Head,

And clothed in righteousness divine,

Bold I approach the eternal throne,

And claim the crown, through Christ my own

Leave a Reply

