Confidence.

Confidence

“I have confidence….”

Single words in the blog world are filling posts. Words of hope, words of change, words of inspiration. Last year my word was Discipline. I have never been a naturally disciplined person and I wanted to make strides in areas where I lacked it. And as I reviewed the last year the other night with my husband over a Panera sandwich, we re-counted grace-filled changes in my discipline habits.  So, after chatting with a friend about what my word for this year- 2013- would be, I have chosen: Confidence.

Two years ago I discovered the grace of the gospel new and fresh. The Lord stripped me of my own self-righteousness- taking away dependence upon self, personal strengths, status, and my own works of merit. This taking away of confidence in myself and my abilities above confidence in God has been a blessed change. I learned to rebuild confidence in the Lord alone.

But with major change in life often comes timidity and lack of  healthy confidence in even what God has given. And by change I mean: marriage, moving to a new city, new job, new friends, new church, new life. Needless to say, my confidence has been shaken at times. So I have known that I needed to work on this and with the new year I want to focus on obtaining God-given confidence in all His goodness, His gifts, and His callings on my life to be a wife, employee, church member, family member, and friend. This is not confidence in my outward appearance or even my social skills, but in Spirit produced, growing godliness. My verse for this year (especially that last part):

1 Peter 3:3-6  Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious. For this is how the holy women who hoped in God used to adorn themselves, by submitting to their own husbands, as Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord. And you are her children, if you do good and do not fear anything that is frightening.

8 thoughts on “Confidence.

  1. Love this. My word is focus.Last year I didn’t so much chose a word, but a singular direction. I have found I respond better to these type of “resolutions.” I look forward to hearing about your growth in confidence.

  2. We can all grow in this area. Everyday is a new commitment to His confidence and not our own. We die to ourselves and follow Him.

Leave a Reply

