At a Crossroad

I went to a conference two weekends ago and I was greatly encouraged.  It was the True Woman (click on the link to listen to the sessions) conference with Nancy Leigh DeMoss and the theme was “Seeking Him”. I came with anticipation because I knew I needed to hear truth in this area.

You see, I have found myself in a dry spell, a complacency and comfortableness that I haven’t seemed to be able to shake. I have been greatly fed by the Word at church, encouraged by dear brothers and sisters there but when it came to be being on my knees in desperation of Him it had been a struggle. I did not think I was alone in this and by the appearance of 9,000 women at the conference, my thoughts were confirmed.

Did the conference instantly give me discipline and passion?  No. The conference allowed for times of repentance before the Lord and worship of Him after conviction and I came away refreshed, encouraged and energized but I didn’t need that. God had already been working on my heart through the preaching of the Word in my church…his primary means to minister to us by the way. But I do think that God in His grace gives us those times to bring proper perspective, a time away from the demands and loudness of life.

This conference was a catalyst and truth came to my weary heart. I saw myself standing at a crossroad much like Frost. And maybe by the world’s standards this road of discipline and holiness and growth in godliness is a road less traveled. But I know that many feet have trod there. Many godly, faithful, world-impacting feet have walked, sometimes stumbled and at times crawled on to the Glory that awaited them.

So there I was and here I am. I had a choice to keep walking in my complacency, ease, comfort with minimal fight and passion and suffer the consequences. Or, I could choose to place one foot in front of the other and take the road greatly worn by the faithful before me and experience satisfying joy.

As Priscilla Shirer said, God often holds His blessings to us at arm’s reach. But the good news is that God even gives us the grace to reach! We don’t reach for holiness out of our own strength. He helps me choose to do the hard thing of discipline rather than crowd out my heart with small, earthly, self-centered things. And today I choose to walk the road greatly worn.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted”

Hebrews 12: 1-3

“…that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death…”

Philippians 3:10

“…but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

John 4:14

Leave a Reply

