Newlywed Expectations

Five Minute Friday: Expectation

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community...


People have asked me often in the last few months what marriage has been like.

I think they want to know if we have fought a lot or are having a great first year.

I remember my Aunt Gina telling me before we got married that I didn’t have to listen to the stories of horrible first years because it can in fact be the best year of our life.

I should say that I scored really high on the realism portion of our pre-marriage test. I guess that’s a good thing. However, it kind of threw me off because I am pretty much the queen of expectations.

I know the relative “success” of our first months have been due to the grace of God and perhaps also in realizing the reality of life. It’s not all roses and poems. It’s life. Both of our families have demonstrated the realness of marriage as we have seen their faults and beautiful, graceful, successes.

Yes, I did have expectations but I praise God for people around us who helped us anticipate the realness of life once the newness of it all wears off.

But let me also be careful to say that I never want to get over the newness of our marriage. I plan to live many long newlywed years with my wonderful husband enjoying every stage of life to the fullest.

5 thoughts on “Newlywed Expectations

  1. Such wisdom! Enjoy every moment of newlywed-ness for decades and decades to come. It is possible. 🙂 (visiting from the Gypsy Mama)

  2. What a beautiful post. Our first year of marriage was a struggle, but through God’s faithful hand and our parents as great examples we are celebrating 10-years this year!
    A roller coaster for sure, but what an exciting ride!

    Visiting from The Gypsy Mama!

    • Thank you Jessica. Yes, I don’t pretend that it won’t be hard at times but I know that through those times, His grace is enough. Praise the Lord for 10 years of marriage! (and for parents as great examples)

Leave a Reply

