All Grown Up

First Day of College

News flash. I’m an adult. I know that’s not new to most people, but to me, yesterday, it hit. I have a job, responsibilities, ugh. When did this happen?! While discussing summer plans with Matt yesterday, a little bit of my selfishness came out. We have about 6 wedding invites, our 1 year anniversary, graduations, and a desire to go on mission trips at some point while here and only so many of my vacation days to work with, not to mention, money that we don’t have in order to do any of these things even if we did have the time. Reality check: we can’t do it all

Recently we have come up with a vision for what the next five years might look like, all Lord willing. Having those goals to work for is actually liberating. My problem is actually believing in delayed gratification. Am I willing to see the trade-off? We may not be able to go to all the places and do all the things we want to do right now, but in the end it WILL pay off. So, during my little “come to Jesus” talk with my patient hubby, I am now realizing some truths about adulthood that I guess I was pretending weren’t true. In the midst of this little talk, he brought to my forgetful soul that we have such a good life.

In fact, yesterday’s sermon was about “the good life”, the world’s perspective and ours.When we compare the fact of our salvation to that of the world’s state, we are infinitely better off…no…eternally better off. When we took the road less traveled, we knew there would be hardship, struggle, sacrifice, but the delayed gratification in the end far outweighs the small, immediate sacrifices. Is my Jesus enough? Do I delight in Him? I want to be that tree planted and yielding fruit in season. We can read further and see that those who don’t take the first path will suffer consequences. Basically, their ending is bleak, with no hope. Their lives are blown away as meaningless.

So, as I think about a summer of mostly work and a little play, I want my mindset to shift forward to the future gratification and count my blessings as I go because I do have many. And this is life….and its a good one.

Psalm 1

 1 Blessed is the one
who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
   and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
   which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
   whatever they do prospers.

 4 Not so the wicked!
They are like chaff
that the wind blows away.
5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

 6 For the LORD watches over the way of the righteous,
but the way of the wicked leads to destruction.

(emphasis mine)

Moments of Gratitude: 594-600

my husband and best friend on this journey

a good job

family cheering for us

a church who loves and challenges

dreams, goals, plans

friends here and there

a Savior who delights in me

What more do you need……

6 thoughts on “All Grown Up

  1. I keep having these news flash moments too and I’m 32. It still startles me most days that I’m an adult, and even scarier is that there are two little people depending on me as well and expecting me to be their mommma, where did they come from???

  2. Delayed gratification…ugh. That’s very hard. It took seven years for a “promise” to be fulfilled (God spoke to me about Guatemala and then sent me SEVEN YEARS LATER!). It’s hard to wait. But, oh, so worth it.

  3. All grown up but still growing. Remember this time in your life is for a season. Enjoy the simplicity and togetherness you and Matt have in-spite of what you don’t have. Foundations are being built that are so important for a lifetime ahead!

Leave a Reply

