A Hymn Sing

This Sunday evening we had a “Hymn Sing” where any member of the Church could come learn parts and sing a few great old hymns that would be sung in the evening congregational worship. It was a great time and I was introduced to this beautiful, old hymn originally penned by Anne Ross Cousin and modified by Connie Dever. The melody is just as beautiful as the lyrics.

“The Sands of Time Are Sinking”

The sands of time are sinking,
The dawn of heaven breaks;
The summer morn I’ve sighed for –
The fair, sweet morn awakes:
Dark, dark had been the midnight
But day-spring is at hand,
And glory, glory dwelleth
In Immanuel’s land.

The king there in His beauty,
Without a veil is seen:
It were a well-spent journey,
Though seven deaths lay between:
The Lamb with His fair army,
Doth on Mount Zion stand,
And glory, glory dwelleth
In Emmanuel’s land

O Christ, He is the fountain,
The deep, sweet well of love!
The streams on earth I’ve tasted
More deep I’ll drink above:
There to an ocean fullness
His mercy doth expand,
And glory, glory dwelleth
In Immanuel’s land.

The bride eyes not her garment,
But her dear Bridegroom’s face;
I will not gaze at glory
But on my King of grace.
Not at the crown He giveth
But on His pierced hand;
The Lamb is all the glory
Of Immanuel’s land.

O I am my Beloved’s
And my Beloved is mine!
He brings a poor vile sinner
Into His house of wine
I stand upon His merit –
I know no other stand,
Not e’en where glory dwelleth
In Immanuel’s land.

So teach us to number our days
    that we may get a heart of wisdom.

~ Psalms 90:12

This verse has been perched on my bathroom window ever since my dad texted it to me the night he was to preach on this chapter. We don’t have a long time on this earth. This song talks about anticipating and  longing for His return. And as I think towards Easter, I am reminded that one day, when He comes again, all wrong will be made right. We will behold His resurrected body and we will fall down before Him in worship. Until then, we remember and make known His life lived and given for us so that we as sinners might one day live with Him.

“For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face.

Now I know in part; then I shall know fully,

even as I have been fully known.”

~1 Cor. 13:12

Moments of Gratitude-580-593

  • looking forward to a surprise getaway with my husband
  • a busy and full week
  • anticipating Easter and celebrating with friends
  • catching up with a dear friend over a baguette and jam
  • running errands together
  • Saturday to shop
  • news of a sweet lady back home needing prayers
  • grocery money stretching
  • beginning to reach a goal with the Lord’s help
  • singing
  • a clean home
  • watching my favorite movie late at night
  • American dinner with sweet like-minded Australian friends

Leave a Reply

