The Art of Letter Writing and Receiving

Moms know just what you need. It’s spring and the new fashions are rolling out. Our budget is tight. Yet a little letter addressed to my maiden name (with an “oops Tyler” included) contained all the love and thoughtfulness to brighten my mood and feel her nearness.

Reality keeps telling me its been a while since I’ve seen my family and it will be a while still. Yet that little envelope reminded me of so much more- the kindness and generosity of my parents- the joy they have in blessing us.

The art of letter writing has been lost to a by-gone era in the midst of buttons, keys, and clicks. And with all that little letter conveyed to me, I do believe this is a sad thing.

A recent letter I received from a dear friend spanned the gap of years gone by filled with busyness, life changes, and distance. Yet, immediately I was near her. We were sharing a space in time where the bits and pieces we have picked up from our computers and the little trickle of information passed down from Momma-friends were gone as I read that letter. It was direct correspondence from her to me.

The other day I was getting a package together to mail to a friend and decided to include a hand written note of life information. This proved more difficult as I tried to think through things that would be interesting to write. We stay pretty close in contact with each other whether through the occasional text, talk, or tweet. What could I write that she wouldn’t already know? Then I though, “it doesn’t really matter because she is a kindred spirit. She will just enjoy the art of letter writing and receiving.”

Letters mean pausing, thinking, deliberating, narrowing down to the most important. Letters show you genuinely care, remember, and want to know what’s going on in their life too. They don’t have to be long or even detailed. But in order to be effective, they have to be. Perhaps I will be doing more of this.

To send a letter is a good way

to go somewhere without moving anything

but your heart. ~ Phyllis Theroux

3 thoughts on “The Art of Letter Writing and Receiving

  1. “We were sharing a space in time where the bits and pieces we have picked up from our computers and the little trickle of information passed down from Momma-friends were gone as I read that letter. It was direct correspondence from her to me.”
    Gorgeous. I love this image that in receiving the letter you share a space in time together-what a beautiful thought. I have a childhood friend who does not like internet or phone and so we have written snail mail letters for years. It’s truly a treat to receive in the mail. I love this post, Em.

Leave a Reply

