Be Still

Stillness. This is difficult for me. My mama and daddy named me Emily: “Industrious One“. I think I proved my name’s meaning well over the years. This doesn’t mean laziness isn’t a battle. After a long day at work, the couch always looks more appealing than the dishes. Regardless of my tendency towards laziness, I seem to always have to be doing something.

The other night, I had the house to myself. Matt was out of town. So I pampered myself with a leisurely trip to Target and take-home sushi. When back home, I filled the silence with a movie and social media. Before I went to bed, I opened my Bible to catch a few minutes of “stillness” before the Lord. It was refreshing to my soul after a “noisy” evening.

“He says, ‘Be still, and know that I am God;

He tells us to know He is God. That is hard to focus on in the midst of noise. I can make up good excuses for my lack of stillness but thankfully God gives us a promise that enables our stillness even with the chaos of life all around.

 I will be exalted among the nations,
   I will be exalted in the earth.’”

That’s it! That’s the promise. It’s ok to be still. He, in His sovereignty, has it all under His control. He WILL be exalted among the nations. He’s got the whole world in His hands therefore, I can take time to rest in Him. I can stop and  the world won’t stop just because I take some time to be still. The laundry, dishes, phone calls, emails, will still be there and they will be OK left for some time spent knowing He is God.

2 thoughts on “Be Still

  1. I so often feel guilty for being still. In fact, I rarely, if ever, spend my quiet time with God if my children are up and moving about. And if my husband drives up after work, and I’m sitting down, I hop up quickly just to look busy!

Leave a Reply

