Words from Susannah

“A surely servant is no credit to his master,

a thankless guest is no joy in a house,

and a miserable Christian is an anomaly in God’s universe.

Lord help me to cultivate gladness,

teach me to improve every occasion of receiving mercy from you;

so fill my mouth with praise and thanksgiving

that there may be no room in it for anything less choice and precious!

I have your dear promise to plead when I ask this, for you have said,

“Open thy mouth wide, and I will fill it.’

As the hungry little bird in a nest gape and clamour for the food they need,

but cannot obtain for themselves,

so do all the emotions of my soul long to be supplied by you

with the power to show forth your praise.”

~Susannah Spurgeon 

excerpt from Free Grace and Dying Love 

Leave a Reply

