The Conflict of Christmas

I just found this blogging mom and Church planter the other day thanks to my friend, Ashley Haupt. She just posted a blog that I felt speaks exactly what has been conflicting in my soul related to Christmas. Needless to say, the timing was perfect.

I have been hit with a reality check recently about life as an “adult”. It has been a wake-up call and I’m thankful to the Lord for His grace in teaching me through all of life’s challenges as well as for my husband who has been understanding and grace-filled. I share the link to this blog today because I want to be reminded of His grace during this season and I’m sure others need it as well.

I naturally want Christmas to be magical, traditional, and just perfect as a newly wed with my wonderful husband. But I’m finding there are crazy days, exhausting days, draining days, and busy days that don’t always make the magical moment possible. That’s when I must continue to count the simple blessings and choose to let them point me to Christ. After all, that’s what this is all about. So, maybe we don’t have a homemade wreathe on the door, only a few sparse ornaments on the tree, not enough money to get everyone we know a Christmas gift, or time to read about the Advent every evening. But I do have a door to an apartment, I have a real Christmas tree complete with a few ornaments from my childhood…even the tiny gold snowflake that I love, and money for some. But, most of all I am confident in my Savior, that I am His and He is mine and He will be with us every step of the way.

His grace is enough.
8 thoughts on “The Conflict of Christmas

  1. Thank you for sharing this truth — that we don’t have to feel a certain way, have a Christmas look or possess the “Christmas spirit” to celebrate the birth of our Messiah.

  2. Dear mrs. Tyler,
    You simply never fail to inspire me! I love you so much. You and Matt have been in my prayers a lot recently. You will continue to be. Thank you for this post. It’s so good to hear about Christ’s work in your life!

    • Jenna, I love you dearly and miss you so. Thanks for always being a friend that never fails to encourage no matter the distance or the terrible fact that we can’t communicate very well. I think of you often and pray for you as well.

Leave a Reply

